Cancer Home > Types of Testicular Cancer

In most cases, testicular cancer starts in the germ cells. Based on the characteristics of the germ cells in the tumor, testicular cancers are categorized into two types: seminomas or nonseminomas. Other types of this cancer are rare.
Seminomas may be one of three types:
  • Classic choriocarcinoma
  • Embryonal carcinoma teratoma
  • Yolk sac tumors.
Seminomas and nonseminomas grow differently, spread differently, and are treated differently. A testicular tumor that contains both seminoma and nonseminoma cells is treated as a nonseminoma.
Written by/reviewed by:
Last reviewed by: Arthur Schoenstadt, MD
Last updated/reviewed:
List of references (click here):
Other Articles in This eMedTV Presentation




Related Channels

eMedTV Links
Copyright © 2006-2019 Clinaero, Inc.

eMedTV serves only as an informational resource. This site does not dispense medical advice or advice of any kind. Site users seeking medical advice about their specific situation should consult with their own physician. Click Terms of Use for more information.

This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information:
verify here.