Cancer Channel
Related Channels

Kidney Cancer Stages

Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)
An MRI is a procedure that uses a magnet, radio waves, and a computer to make a series of detailed pictures of areas inside the body. This procedure is also called nuclear magnetic resonance imaging (NMRI).
Chest X-ray
A chest x-ray is an x-ray of the organs and bones inside the chest. An x-ray is a type of energy beam that can go through the body and onto film, making a picture of areas inside the body.
Bone Scan
A bone scan is a procedure that is used to check if there are rapidly dividing cells, such as cancer cells, in the bone. A very small amount of radioactive material is injected into a vein that travels through the bloodstream. The radioactive material collects in the bones and is detected by a scanner.

Specific Kidney Cancer Stages

Specific stages of kidney cancer include:
  • Stage I
  • Stage II
  • Stage III
  • Stage IV
  • Recurrent.
Stage I
In stage I, the tumor is 7 centimeters or smaller and is found only in the kidney.
Stage II
In stage II kidney cancer, the tumor is larger than 7 centimeters and is found only in the kidney.
Stage III
In stage III kidney cancer, cancer is found:
  • In the kidney and in one nearby lymph node.
  • In an adrenal gland or in the layer of fatty tissue around the kidney. The cancer may also be found in one nearby lymph node.
  • In the main blood vessels of the kidney and may be found in one nearby lymph node.
5 Easy Tips to Manage Visitors During Cancer Treatment

Kidney Cancer Information

Terms of Use
Advertise with Us
Contact Us
About eMedTV
Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2006-2020 Clinaero, Inc.
eMedTV serves only as an informational resource. This site does not dispense medical advice or advice of any kind. Site users seeking medical advice about their specific situation should consult with their own physician. Click Terms of Use for more information.